Hi,
I'm sorry but I agree with macalter that the value should be in the options and should not be by default "published". Looking at the problem for a different angle, the option can be called share/do not share. I could be using the server as a remote backup of my pictures and might not want to "share" all my pictures.
if there is a problem with published/unpublished albums perhaps zenphoto should make the two states more clear to users rather than making everything published by default.