Ok, this was entirely my mistake, but I thought I would post the cause in case someone else runs into this. I use Mozilla Firefox and tabbed browsing. To complicate things further I also save my session when I close Firefox so that all the sites I was browsing restore when I reopen Firefox. One of my tabs was left at the admin toolbox, in particular at the plugin selection page. Every time I closed and reopened Firefox it would resubmit the plugin selections with nothing selected. Ugh. Rookie mistake. Sorry.