OK but would it not affect all my pictures and galleries?
When I ran the setup it told me that I was doing an update - probably correct, but still all files and modifications, would they be lost?
Did setup delete all those pictures and galleries[sic] when you did the previous update? Of course not, nor will it do that anytime you do an update. In this particular case it will actually do nothing since it has made all the needed changes the last time you ran it.