Given your description, the most likely culpret is the database. However, I am not clear on "when" things dissappear. Is it without any action on your part, or does it happen when you save something (not necessarily the image that gets reset, though.)
Anyway, some more information would be useful--zenphoto version, specifics of what steps you do and the results at each point, etc.