Custom Guest Authorization Method

Hello everyone,

I'm relatively new to Zenphoto, but I have created my own theme here.
(Might submit it for a showcase when complete...)

It's my understanding that the only way guest users may view a protected album is through one and only one password. However, I would like to use a challenge-response system which allows users to submit a keyword, have Zenphoto check it against an album-specific list of keywords (such as that album's tags, or even a json file in that album directory) and provide that guest with rights to viewing.

An example scenario would be guest(s) want to view an album with photos of them in it. Instead of having to remember a password, they only would have to enter their last name. At the link above―at the time of writing―I have an example set where one album is public and another password protected. With the latter case, Zenphoto prints an html form that is displayed when you click on it, but currently has no action or method.

So, my question is how exactly should I implement code to auth a guest user. Do I extend lib-auth.php or external_auth.php with a plugin? I'm continuing to learn how exactly Zenphoto's user auth system works, though I want to make sure I don't end up breaking ZP's fundamental operation and cause potential security issues.

Regards,
Matthew

Comments

• acrylian Administrator, Developer

It's my understanding that the only way guest users may view a protected album is through one and only one password.

Yes, that refers to users without an account on your site. Wouldn't perhaps user accounts be a way for you? Then you could even limit access to specific (top level) albums. If you haven't found this article take a read here:
    https://www.zenphoto.org/news/an-overview-of-zenphoto-users/