Maybe you're looking for this:
In options => gallery, find [i] Gallery behavior[/i] and un-check [i]Publish images by default[/i].
Then only assign [i]Upload[/i] and [i]View unpublished[/i] rights to your group.
EDIT:
Quote:... Unchecking the "edit" or "upload" boxes will prevent the user from accessing those capabilities.
Under the [i]groups[/i] tab find [i]Managed albums[/i] (a gray bar that expands if you click on it)
As soon as you select one of the albums listed there and hit Apply, two checkboxes appear to the right of the selected album.
Now you can decide what a user is allowed to do.